My Cart



Sonny Rollins CD Boxset, Box Set, Celebration of 25 Years on Milestone, 2 CD

$30.00 USD

Cds, cases, booklet, slipcase and inserts are in mint / near mint condition.  Original indie pressing.  This is not a promotional version. 

1. Autumn Nocturne
2. Duke of Iron
3. Cabin in the Sky
4. Harlem Boys
5. Where or When
6. To a Wild Rose
7. Mava Mava
8. Tennessee Waltz
9. G-Man

1. McGhee
2. Someone to Watch over Me
3. I'm Old Fashioned
4. Just Once
5. Lucky Day
6. Darn That Dream
7. Silver City
8. Skylark
9. Tell Me You Love Me
10. Biji

Playing Time: 140 min.
Contributing Artists: Jack DeJohnette, Tony Williams, Jon Faddis, Tommy Flanagan, Stephen Scott, Mark Soskin, Bob Cranshaw, Jimmy Heath

Album Notes
Personnel: Sonny Rollins (saxophone); Jimmy Heath (conductor); John Faddis, Byron Stripling (flugelhorn); Clifton Anderson (trombone); Alex Brofsky (French horn); Bob Stewart (tuba); Mark Soskin (acoustic & electric pianos, Fender Rhodes, keyboards, synthesizer); Stephen Scott, Tommy Flanagan, Stanley Cowell, George Cables (piano); Jerome Harris (electric guitar, electric bass); Yoshiaki Masuo (acoustic & electric guitars); Aurell Ray (electric 12-string guitar); Bobby Broom (electric guitar); Bob Cranshaw acoustic & electric basses); Russel Blake (electric bass); Tony Williams, Marvin "Smitty" Smith, Jack DeJohnette, Al Foster, David Lee, Tommy Campbell, Steve Jordan (drums); Bill Summers, Mtume (congas, percussion); Lucille Rollins (cowbell).Producers: Orrin Keepnews, Sonny Rollins, Lucille Rollins.Compilation producers: Sonny Rollins, Lucille Rollins.Recorded between July 1972 and October 1995. Includes liner notes by Chip Stern, Ralph Kaffel, Orrin Keepnews, Gary Giddins, Mark Soskin, Ron Holloway, Tommy Flanagan, Bobby Broom, Bob Cranshaw and Clifton Anderson.Personnel: Sonny Rollins (saxophone); Yoshiaki Masuo (guitar, electric guitar); Jerome Harris (electric guitar, electric bass); Bobby Broom (electric guitar); Aurell Ray (12-string guitar); Jon Faddis, Byron Stripling (flugelhorn); Alex Brofsky (French horn); Clifton Anderson (trombone); Bob Stewart (tuba); Mark Soskin (piano, electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, synthesizer); George Cables, Stanley Cowell, Stephen Scott, Tommy Flanagan (piano); Bob Cranshaw (acoustic bass, electric bass); Russell Blake (electric bass); Steve Jordan , David Lee , Jack DeJohnette, Al Foster, Marvin "Smitty" Smith, Tommy Campbell, Tony Williams (drums); Mtume, Bill Summers (congas, percussion); Lucille Rollins (cowbells).Audio Remixers: Lucille Rollins; Richard Corsello.Liner Note Authors: Chip Stern; Clifton Anderson; Gary Giddins; Jim Stern; Orrin Keepnews; Ralph Kaffel.Recording information: Clinton Recording Studios, Inc., New York, NY (07/??/1972-10/07/1995); Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA (07/??/1972-10/07/1995); Great American Music Hall, San Anselmo (07/??/1972-10/07/1995); Mercury Studios, New York, NY (07/??/1972-10/07/1995); Montreaux Jazz Festival, S and D (07/??/1972-10/07/1995); Montreux Jazz Festival, Switzerland (07/??/1972-10/07/1995); Opus 40, Saugerties, NY (07/??/1972-10/07/1995).Photographers: Clifton Anderson; John Abbott ; Tony Lane; Phil Bray; Jerome Knill; Steve Maruta; Jon Abbot; Luke Lois; Frank Lindner.Unknown Contributor Role: Jack DeJohnette.Arrangers: Jimmy Heath; Sonny Rollins.In the 19 cuts on this anthology Rollins covers all the bases, and then some. The four-minute unaccompanied opening to the live recording of "Autumn Nocturne" is ridiculously cool; the stomping "G-Man" barrels along in a righteously modal vein with Marvin "Smitty" Smith grooving hard on drums. The handful of ballads are lush and exploratory, from the Gerswhin chestnut "Someone To Watch Over Me" to "Tennessee Waltz." DeJohnette provides the underpinning for the cooking minor blues "McGhee," and the Caribbean-inflected originals, such as "Mava Mava" and "Duke of Iron," which pulse with exuberance and life.Rollins' original Milestone producer Orrin Keepnews, critic Gary Giddins (who had a hand in the selection of the material) and journalist Chip Stern all contribute notes to the accompanying booklet, unnecessarily defending Rollins from those who insist his records don't measure up to his reputation as a live performer. Yeah, there's a disco tune on here, but the energy revealed in these cuts might have you grooving along to "Harlem Boys" before you know it.

Guaranteed to play perfectly.