My Cart



Rush CD, The Spirit of Radio,

$7.00 USD

Cd, case and inserts are in mint / near mint condition.  Original 2003 release.  This is not a promotional version.

UPC: 044006333526
Release Year: 2003

Track Listing
1. Working Man
2. Fly by Night
3. 2112 Overture / The Temples Of Syrinx
4. Closer to the Heart
5. The Trees
6. The Spirit of Radio
7. Free Will
8. Limelight
9. Tom Sawyer
10. Red Barchetta
11. New World Man
12. Subdivisions
13. Distant Early Warning
14. The Big Money
15. Force Ten
16. Time Stand Still

Album Notes
Initial pressings of SPIRIT OF RADIO included a bonus DVD.Rush: Geddy Lee (vocals, Mini-Moog synthesizer, Oberheim synthesizer, bass); Alex Lifeson (acoustic, electric & 12-string guitars, synthesizer); Neil Peart (glockenspiel, drums, timbales, timpani, triangle, percussion, electronic percussion, gong, cowbell, chimes); John Rutsey (drums).Additional personnel: Aimee Mann (vocals); Andy Richards (keyboards, programming); Jim Burgess (programming).Producers: Rush, Terry Brown, Peter Henderson, Peter Collins.Compilation producer: Mike Ragogna.Recorded between 1974 & 1987.Personnel: Geddy Lee (vocals, 12-string guitar, classical guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer, Oberheim synthesizer); Aimee Mann (vocals); Alex Lifeson (guitar, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, electric 12-string guitar, classical guitar, synthesizer); Andy Richards (keyboards); Neil Peart (glockenspiel, drums, cowbells, temple blocks, timpani, triangle, tubular bells, vibraslap, percussion, electronic percussion, crotales, gong, wind chime); John Rutsey (drums).Audio Mixer: Terry Brown.Recording information: Advision Studios, London, England; Air Studios, Montserrat; Le Studio, Morin Heights; Rockfield Studios, Wales; Sarm East, London, England; The Manor, Oxfordshire, England; Toronto Eastern Sound, Toronto, Ontario, Canada; Toronto Sound Studios, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.Photographers: Fin Costello; Andrew MacNaughtan.Arrangers: Rush; Peter Collins ; Terry Brown.Canadian power trio Rush defined a new genre by combining hard rock's relentless drive and screeching vocals with progressive rock's jaw-dropping chops and quasi-mystical/science fiction lyrical sensibility. In the process, the group also spawned two musical revolutionaries in Geddy Lee and Neil Peart, both of whose influence is still felt by anyone who even thinks about playing in a hard rock rhythm section. If that wasn't enough, Rush even managed to successfully change with the times, scoring several gigantic hits in the '80s by folding elements of new wave, reggae, and electronics into an already diverse sound.THE SPIRIT OF RADIO collects many of the best-known tracks from what most fans would consider the band's classic era. Beginning with the heartland rock of "Working Man" and proceeding through MOVING PICTURES's futuristic "Red Barchetta" and GRACE UNDER PRESSURE's Cold War-inspired "Distant Early Warning," the collection shows the members of Rush constantly seeking out new sounds and ideas, all the while maintaining their unparalleled virtuosity and rock energy. Some may have preferred the inclusion of a track from 1975's CARESS OF STEEL ("Bastille Day" being the obvious choice) instead of the two songs from HOLD YOUR FIRE, but this is otherwise a perfectly chosen group of songs providing a fascinating overview.

Album Notes
Blue Magic includes: Ted Mills (vocals); Bobby Eli (guitar).Personnel: Blue Magic (background vocals); Billy Ingram (guitar, background vocals); Ted Cohen, T.J. Tindall, Tony Bell, Spencer Bean, Darnell Jordan, Bill Neale, Al McKay, Louis Russell, Norman Harris, Roland Chambers, Bobby Eli (guitar); Jack Faith (flute, alto saxophone); Theodore Life (harmonica); Harry Dixon, Ronald Lee (horns); James Ingram (keyboards, background vocals); Dexter Wansel, Eugene Lambchops Curry, Ernest Straughter, Travers Huff, Erskine Williams, Carlton "Cotton" Kent, Lenny Pakula, Michael Stanton, Ron Kersey, Ted Mills (keyboards); Evette Benton (vibraphone, congas, percussion, background vocals); Victor Feldman, Vince Montana, Henri Smith, Robert Ingram, Bunny Harris, Robert Cupit, Larry Washington, Philip Bailey (vibraphone, congas, percussion); Charles Collins (drums, congas, percussion); John Ingram (drums, background vocals); Earl Young, Larry James, Jerry Jones (drums); Barbara Ingram, Carla Benson, Mikki Farrow, Carl Helm, Bruce Gray, Phil Hurtt, Ron Tyson, Bunny Sigler (background vocals).Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.Liner Note Author: A. Scott Galloway.Recording information: Alpha int'l Recording Studios, Philadelphia, PA; Hollywood Sound Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Queen Village Recording Studios, Philadelphia, PA; Sigma Sound Studios, Philadelphia, PA.Unknown Contributor Roles: Vernon Sawyer; Wendall Sawyer; Richard Pratt; Keith Beaton; Walter Smith .Arrangers: Vince Montana; Dave Crawford ; Norman Harris; Ron Kersey; Skip Scarborough; Bobby Eli; Butch Ingram.Released in 1996, The Best of Blue Magic: Soulful Spell typified the pros and cons of compiling a set from one of '70s R&B's best acts. It should be easy. During its 1972-1989 run, Blue Magic always had a fierce and devoted fan base and at least 30 essential songs to choose from. The thing that weighs this set down is the omission of quite a few of those tracks. However, the majority of what's here can't be argued with. "Sideshow," "What's Come Over Me," and "Look Me Up" are all powered by Ted Mills' uncommonly strong falsetto and Norman Harris' earthy yet ethereal productions. This set offers essential tracks from 1975's great 13 Blue Magic Lane. "Loneliest House on the Block," "Haunted By Your Love," and "Chasing Rainbows" are all suitably creepy and sweeping. If anything makes this CD less than great, it's the single edits of album favorites like "Spell," "Look Me Up," and "Chasing Rainbows." The diminishing quality of the post-1975 work doesn't help either. "Teach Me (It's Something About Love)," and "Freak-N-Stein" are as deplorable as the core tracks are sublime. The Philip Bailey co-written EWF clone, "I Waited," the retro "Land of Make-Believe," and the synth-heavy "Magic #" are all textbook flops. Fans will note that essentials like "You Don't Have to Tell Me Goodbye" and 1989's "It's Like Magic" didn't make it here. Sure, most of the work here is great, but a few key inclusions would have made it definitive. ~ Jason Elias

Guaranteed to play perfectly.