My Cart



Les Paul CD, w/ Mary Ford, Best of, Greatest, Fibits: CD, LP & Cassette Store

$8.00 USD

Cd, case and inserts are in mint / near mint condition.  Original Capitol Records release.  This is not a promotional version, no promo holes, slices, or marks.

1. Lover
2. Nola
3. Tennessee Waltz
4. Mockin'bird Hill
5. How High the Moon
6. The World Is Waiting For the Sunrise
7. Whispering
8. Just One More Chance
9. Tiger Rag
10. In the Good Old Summertime
11. Meet Mister Callaghan
12. Lady of Spain
13. My Baby's Comin' Home
14. Bye Bye Blues
15. I'm Sitting on Top of the World
16. Vaya con Dios
17. I Really Don't Want to Know
18. I'm a Fool to Care
19. Whither Thou Goest
20. Hummingbird

Album Notes
This is a compilation of the best songs contained on the Les Paul box set, THE LEGEND AND THE LEGACY.Die-hard Les Paul fans will need to own THE LEGEND AND THE LEGACY, a four-disc archival set of Paul's work with Capitol, but those not willing to make that leap might consider BEST OF THE CAPITOL MASTERS: 90TH BIRTHDAY EDITION. A distillation of that same set, BEST OF is a concise and economical alternative to THE LEGEND. By the time Paul was recording for Capitol, he was already branching out into radical experimentation with recording and engineering techniques, and many of those experiments are featured here.One of the first to use multi-track technology, Paul would layer tracks of his own guitar work to create an expansive, chamber-pop sound. Moreover, Paul manipulated tape speeds to augment the sound of his playing, and would often mix different speeds together to create a freaky choral effect. BEST OF THE CAPITOL MASTERS also represents the fruitful partnership Paul developed with singer Mary Ford (also his wife), who sings on many of these tracks. Mary's nimble vocals give the tunes (especially the jazz standards) an accessible charm that offsets Paul's experimentation, making this fine single-disc overview a fun listen (in addition to its value as a historical document).

Guaranteed to play perfectly.