My Cart



James Taylor CD, Mud Slide Slim

$5.00 USD

Cd, case and inserts are in mint / near mint condition, looks new. Original 1988 Warner Brothers Records pressing.  This is not a promotional copy. 

UPC: 075992725224
Release Year: 1989

1. Love Has Brought Me Around
2. You've Got a Friend
3. Places in My Past
4. Riding on a Railroad
5. Soldiers
6. Mud Slide Slim
7. That's Me up on the Jukebox Hey Mister
8. You Can Close Your Eyes
9. Machine Gun Kelly
10. Long Ago and Far Away
11. Let Me Ride
12. Highway Song
13. Isn't It Nice to Be Home Again

Album Notes
Personnel: James Taylor (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, background vocals); Danny Kortchmar (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, congas); John Hartford (banjo); Richard Greene (fiddle); Kevin Kelly (accordion, piano); Andrew Love (saxophone, horns); Wayne Jackson (trumpet, horns); The Memphis Horns (horns); Carole King (piano, background vocals); Leland Sklar (bass instrument); Russ Kunkel (drums, congas, cymbals, tambourine, bells); Peter Asher (tambourine, background vocals); Gail Haness, Joni Mitchell, Kate Taylor, Gale Harness (background vocals).Recording information: Crystal Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (01/03/1971-02/28/1971).For the follow up to his classic SWEET BABY JAMES, which rivals TAPESTRY's place in the boomer canon, archetypal sensitive singer-songwriter Taylor wisely elected not to stray too far from the approach that had worked so well on his previous album. He covers another Carole King tune ("You've Got A Friend,") perfects the L.A. folk-rock sound he inaugurated on his earlier work, courtesy of studio hotshots like Russ Kunkel, Danny Kootch and Leland Sklar, whose names are virtually synonymous with Taylor's '70s work. One of the most memorable tunes here, "Hey Mister That's Me Up On the Jukebox" is one of the more effective songs to bemoan the plight of the lonely balladeer, evidence that Taylor mined the introspective troubadour style long before it became a mawkish sham. In other words, don't blame the father for the sins of the wayward sons.

Guaranteed to play perfectly.