My Cart



Arthur Baker CD, Give in to the Rhythm, 1991

$5.00 USD

Cd, case and inserts are in mint / near mint condition. Tab indentions on front insert (pictured), still looks great.  Original 1991 RCA Records release.  There's a promo hole on the barcode (pictured), no hole on cd case.

1. Let There Be Love
2. Leave the Guns at Home
3. I.O.U.
4. Rock Me in the House of Love
5. Feels Like the First Time
6. Inspiration
7. C'Mon C'Mon
8. If Love Had a Heart
9. Can Play This Game
10. Let's Start From Scratch
11. Surrender (Trance Like Us)
12. Kiss the Ground (You Walk On)
13. Meaning of Life

Contributing Artists: Al Green, Tata Vega

Album Notes
Personnel: Arthur Baker (keyboards, percussion, loops); Al Green, Tata Vega, Nikeeta, Leee John, Wanda Nash, Adele Bertei, Kate Ceberano, Toney Lee (vocals); Wendell Williams, G.L.O.B.E. (rap vocals); Phillip Ceberano (guitar); Paul Shapiro (flute); Tina Baker (whistle); Greg Phillinganes (piano, organ); Eric Kupper, Tom McIlwaine (keyboards, drums); Tommy Faragher (keyboards, background vocals); Steve Rimland, Axel Kroell (keyboards); Blue Jean (drums, synthesizer); Tricky (loops); Richie Rich (scratches); Daryl Pandy, Tim Bryant, Ron Winans Family and Friends, Cheri, Tawatha Agee, Tina B, Lotti Golden, Michelle Cobb, Fonzi Thornton, B.J. Nelson (background vocals); The Memphis Horns.Engineers include: Kennan Keating, Louis Scalise, Goetz Botzenhardt.Recorded at Shakedown Sound, European American Studio and Mad Fly Studios, New York, New York; Soundcastle, Los Angeles, California; and Swanyard, London England.Once again Arthur Baker creates a state-of-the-art dance album that comes off, with its six different vocalists (including Al Green, Lee John, Adele Bertei, and Tata Vega), sounding like a various artists compilation. The tracks are constructed for maximum dance floor efficiency (plus a few concessions to rap), and the singers are suitably emphatic. The clubs were impressed, and individual songs--"IOU," featuring Nikeeta (a remake of an early Baker production), and the soulful "Leave the Guns at Home," with Green--slipped into the pop and R&B charts. But Baker still doesn't add up as a name recording artist and may be better off back behind the mixing desk. ~ William Ruhlmann

Guaranteed to play perfectly.